Warning signs of an abusive relationship

Because for some reason, the holidays bring out the best, or a lot of the times, the worst in people.

https://www.cnn.com/2023/12/12/health/early-signs-of-intimate-partner-violence-wellness/index.html

Highlights include:

1. You and your partner have sex even though you’re not in the mood.

2. You feel like you can’t say no to your partner.

3. Your partner doesn’t admit when they’re wrong.

4. Your partner compares you to other people.

5. Your partner reacts negatively when you say no to something they want.

“Other common early red flags include a partner saying all their exes were crazy, being rude to waiters, harming animals or resisting getting to know your loved ones, Balan said. Coming from abusive households, discouraging hobbies that nurture you, being unable to soothe their own emotions or closely following what you’re doing online are other signs.”

I have hindsight behind me but even if I had read the article I would have had to face many uncomfortable truths about my relationship and short marriage that I would not have wanted to deal with. There are several more warning signs on the list and my ex-husband hits the majority of them.

Leave a comment